Friday, January 29, 2016

Under the Empyrean Sky (The Heartland Trilogy, #1)

Under the Empyrean Sky (The Heartland Trilogy, #1)
author: Chuck Wendig
name: Wayne
average rating: 3.83
book published: 2013
rating: 4
read at: 2016/01/29
date added: 2016/01/29
shelves: young-adult
'Under the Empyrean Sky' by Chuck Wendig is the first book the Heartland Trilogy. With a plethora of dystopian YA novels, I think this one stands out for the setting and some interesting characters.

In a future (?) the Heartland is ruled by the Empyrean. There are vast fields of corn because it is the only crop allowed to grow and it is everywhere. There are also other methods of control like government-chosen spouses and a kind of lottery to separate out people. Cael McAvoy lives in this world with a gang of friends. They spend their days sailing a rickety land boat through the corn. One day they find something highly unusual. While they try to keep it secret, it isn't long before it gets them in the kind of trouble that is way over their heads.

It's the setup for a trilogy and there are some trailing threads leading to the next book. I liked the characters because they seemed like relatively normal kids. I love the idea of the world and the dust and corn silk seemed to clog the air. I imagine the color palette to be sepia toned. I liked it and look forward to the next book.

I received a review copy of this ebook from Skyscape and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you for allowing me to review this ebook.

via Wayne's bookshelf: read

No comments:

Post a Comment